AIIC Canada Association internationale des interprètes de conférence | International Association of Conference Interpreters | Association canadienne des interprètes de conférence (ACIC) | Canadian Association of Conference Interpreters (CACI)

français
Find Interpreters
AIIC & AIIC Canada
Organization
Standards
About Interpretation & Conferences
Useful Information & Links
Announcements
In the News & Awards
Contact
AIIC.net  [external link]
AIIC Canada Members:
Sign in to Members only site
AIIC Code of Ethics
AIIC Professional Standards  [external link]
Professional Standards in Canada
Working Conditions in Canada
Technical Standards
    Fixed Simultaneous Booths - ISO 2603
    Mobile Simultaneous Booths - ISO 4043
    Canadian standards for permanent booths, portable booths and electro-acoustic equipment
    can be obtained for a fee on-line at the Canadian General Standards Board  [external link]
ISO 4043 - Mobile booths for simultaneous interpretation

General characteristics and equipment

Introduction

The aim of this International Standard, prepared at the request of the International Association of Conference Interpreters (AIIC) and the Joint Service Interpretation-Conferences (JSIC) of the European Commission (EU), is to provide optimal conditions for simultaneous interpretation using mobile booths.

The design of a mobile booth is governed by four requirements:

a) acoustic separation of different languages spoken simultaneously;
b) good visual and two-way audio communication between the interpreters and the participants in the meeting;
c) adequate working conditions for the interpreters, whose booths are their work-place, such as to enable them to sustain the intense effort of concentration required throughout the day's work;
d) ease of handling and assembly and of lightweight, yet sturdy construction.

1. Scope

The basic requirements for booths for simultaneous interpretation are specified in ISO 2603.This International Standard is an adaptation of ISO 2603 to meet the needs of transport and handling of mobile booths to be used in halls not equipped with built-in booths.

The main features of mobile booths, distinguishing them from built-in facilities, are that they can be dismantled, moved and set up inside the conference room.

Booths that can be moved but are used on the premises and stored near conference rooms are not covered by this International Standard. They should be designed to conform as closely as possible to built-in booths as specified in ISO 2603.

NOTE Clause 12 gives indications concerning the use of public address systems in conjunction with simultaneous interpretation systems.

2. Normative references

The following standards contain provisions which, through reference in this text, constitute provisions of this International Standard. At the time of publication, the editions indicated were valid. All standards are subject to revision, and parties to agreements based on this International Standard are encouraged to investigate the possibility of applying the most recent editions of the standards indicated below. Members of IEC and ISO maintain registers of currently valid International Standards.

ISO 140-4: 1998, Acoustics - Measurement of sound insulation in buildings and of building elements - Part 4: Field measurements of airborne sound insulation between rooms.
ISO 2603:1998, Booths for simultaneous interpretation - General characteristics and equipment.
ISO 3382:1997, Acoustics - Measurement of the reverberation time of rooms with reference to other acoustical parameters.
IEC 60914:1998, Conference Systems - Electrical and audio requirements.

3. Definition

For the purposes of this International Standard, the following definition applies.

3.1. Mobile booth for simultaneous interpretation

A self-contained unit enclosing the interpreters' work space within a conference room, for the purpose of providing sound insulation, both from the proceedings in the room and between two or more simultaneously interpreted languages.

NOTE It is free-standing and assembled from modular components.

4. General requirements

4.1 General

Designed for temporary service in a variety of locations, mobile booths shall provide optimum sound-insulation and sound-absorption. Materials used should be easy to maintain, odourless, anti-static, fire retardant or non-flammable and cause no irritation to eyes, skin or respiratory tract. They shall neither attract nor harbour dust (pile carpeting should not be used). Colour schemes should be appropriate for the restricted work space available in a booth. All surfaces, including equipment, should have a matt finish.

Table-mounted hoods are not acceptable.

In selecting a hall in which to set up mobile booths and equipment, it is essential to ensure there is sufficient space to position them appropriately. The user should seek advice from a consultant interpreter as well as from suppliers of such equipment or a conference technician.

4.2 Suitability of conference halls

Halls shall be of adequate size to accommodate participants, booths and equipment and shall be located away from all noise sources (e.g. outside traffic, noisy passages inside buildings, lifts and kitchens).

Satisfactory hall acoustics shall be ensured, to provide good speech intelligibility, and in particular, short reverberation time.

Halls shall be properly heated and ventilated (air-conditioning), with a carbon dioxide level not exceeding 0,1 %.

4.3 Siting in the conference hall

A sufficiently large area shall be provided to place the booths together in a position from which the rostrum, participants, blackboard and projection screen can be fully seen (see ISO  2603). To ensure adequate visibility in conference rooms with a level floor, booths should be raised to at least 0,30 m above the floor. Where necessary, a platform shall be used, provided it is stable, carpeted or suitably sound-absorbent, has safe access and does not creak.

Obstruction of view, such as pillars, beams, etc., should be avoided.

A free space (minimum of 2 m) shall be provided between conference table, delegates' chairs and booths to avoid participants being disturbed by voices from the booths.

A passage behind the booths at least 1,50 m wide should be provided (for safety and fire precautions).

Access to the hall past the booths shall be avoided. Separate access to the booths should be provided where possible.

4.4 Size of booths (see figures 1 and 2)

Each booth shall accommodate the required number of interpreters comfortably seated side by side while allowing the occupants to enter and leave the booth without disturbing one another. Enough space shall be provided to ensure adequate ventilation and temperature control.

The booth dimensions have been reviewed and adapted in the light of prevailing conditions and of the health and professional requirements of interpreters.

Internal dimensions for a standard mobile booth shall not be less than the following:

a) width:

- for no more than two interpreters 1,60 m
- for two or three interpreters 2,40 m
- for three or four interpreters 3,20 m

b) depth: 1,60 m

c) height: 2,00 m

NOTE In very exception circumstances, where space restrictions and internal transport problems are such that the standard dimensions cannot be used, dimensions of 1,50 x 1,50 x 1,90 m may be used for no more than two interpreters.

4.5 Doors

Doors are essential to ensure proper sound-proofing. A booth shall have a hinged door that opens outwards, providing direct access from the room or platform. The door shall operate silently and not be lockable.

Sliding doors and curtains are not acceptable.

4.6 Cable passages

Where cable passages are necessary in the side or front panels of the booths, they should be of the smallest possible dimensions compatible with the equipment used. Access to passages should be easy (see 4.3).

5. Windows ()

5.1 General

See figures 1 and 2.

Each booth shall have front and side windows.

For maximum visibility, front windows should span the whole width of the booth. Vertical support shall be as narrow as possible and shall not be in the central field of view of any working position.

Window panes shall be untinted, clean and free from scratches that might impair visibility.

5.2. Dimensions

Front and side windows shall extend upwards for at least 0,80 m from the table surface or from no more than 0,10 m above that surface. Side windows should extend from the front window for a minimum of 0,60 m along the side wall, 0,10 m of which should be beyond the free edge of the working surface.

6. Acoustics

6.1 Sound insulation

Mobile booths shall be so designed as to provide reasonable sound insulation against any sound from sources outside the booth, e.g. speech from neighbouring booths or the hall (and vice versa), background noise, etc. Where walls are shared by booths, the sound insulation values shall be fully met.

The sound insulation shall be checked in accordance with ISO 140-4 as a measure of the difference in sound pressure levels, D, using one of the booths as receiving room while the sound source fed with white or pink noise excites the source room, being the hall or the immediately adjacent booth.

The sound pressure levels shall be measured in octave bands in the source and receiving room, and the difference between the two sets of sound pressure levels should at least equal to the values given in table 1 for the noise transmitted from the hall to a booth, and vice versa.

Table 1 - Booth to hall (and vice versa) - Sound Pressure level differences (D)

Frequency, Hz 250 500 1000 2000 4000
D, dB 12 15 18 20 20

For the noise transmitted from booth to booth, the differences between the two sets of sound pressure levels should at least equal to the values given in table 2.

Table 2 - Booth to Booth : Sound pressure level differences (D)

Frequency, Hz 250 500 1000 2000 4000
D, dB 18 21 24 26 26

The measurement of D between booths and from outside into a booth shall be made with booths installed in a suitable hall, thus resembling practical conditions.

6.2 Sound absorption

Reverberation and sound reflection shall be reduced by using suitable anti-static sound-absorbing materials on inside surfaces. The reverberation time (see ISO 3382) inside the booth shall be between 0,3 s and 0,5 s, in the octave bands from 125 Hz to 4000 Hz (booth unoccupied).

A screen of absorbent material behind the booths may be used to attenuate the reflection of sound by the wall behind the booths.

In halls without carpeting, the booths shall be placed on a carpet.

7. Ventilation

See figures 1 and 2.

Booths shall be fitted with an effective ventilation system, ensuring complete renewal of the air at least seven times per hour, without causing harmful draughts on seated occupants. Where higher rates of air renewal can be obtained, they shall be adjustable within the booth.

Extractor fans in the ceiling should be powerful enough to meet the above requirements as soundlessly as possible.

Where air intake is direct from the meeting room, vents should be located low in booth walls (to benefit from cooler air and to ensure proper circulation) and towards the rear of the booth to avoid draughts on the interpreters' legs.

The equivalent A-weighted sound pressure level inside the booth due to the ventilating system shall not exceed 40 dB. The ventilation system shall be such that mechanical vibration is reduced to a minimum.

8. Working surface

See figures 1 and 2.

The working surface shall extend across the full width of the booth, it shall be horizontal and covered with shock-absorbent material to deaden noise that would otherwise be picked up by the microphones. Its strength shall be sufficient to take the weight of control consoles, documents and interpreters leaning on its surface. The under-surface shall be smooth. The following dimensions apply:

- height: 0,73 m +/- 0,01 m from the floor;
- total depth: maximum 0,50 m;
- leg-room: minimum 0,45 m; supporting structures shall not encroach on leg room or obstruct movement.

Equipment and fixtures, such as lighting, should be mounted in such a way as to leave the working surface as clear as possible.

9. Lighting

In each booth at least two compact low-heat, orientable light sources shall be provided, mounted on adjustable fittings and in such a way as not to encumber the working surface. The light thus provided shall cover the working surface and be regulated either in two steps with a lower range of between 100 lx and 200 lx and a higher above 300 lx, or provide continuous control from 100 lx to over 300 lx, measured at working surface level.

10. Seating

For each interpreter and technician, there shall be a comfortable chair with the following characteristics :

- five legs;
- adjustable height;
- adjustable back-rest;
- arm-rests;
- castors producing no perceptible noise;
- upholstery of heat-dissipating material.

Independent, movable foot-rests should be available.

NOTE Seating is usually supplied by the management of the hall.

11. Booth audio equipment

11.1 General

Equipment for simultaneous interpretation is specified in IEC 60914.

11.2 Controls and headphones

One set of controls and headphones, as described in ISO 2603:1998, clauses 8 to 10 shall be provided for each interpreter. If the booth is occupied by no more than two interpreters, the use of one dual-control console is permissible, but one console for each interpreter is recommended.

To allow for individual preferences, provision should be made for connecting base-mounted microphones or headset combinations to the control console.

11.3 Microphones

Interpreters' microphones may be mounted on a movable base or combined with headphones (i.e. headsets). However, headset combinations do not suit all interpreters. One microphone is required for each interpreter.

12. The use of public address systems in conjunction with simultaneous inter-pretation systems

Acoustic feedback and echoes in the hall may impair simultaneous interpretation and, in extreme cases, block the memory processes and/or damage hearing.

Moreover, part of each audience depends on headphone reception, which may be drowned by loudspeakers when operated at their normal level. Indeed, public address systems which are not compatible will cause interference. Therefore, every precaution shall be taken, both in the design and the volume control of the public address system, to avoid echo and feed-back from loudspeakers to microphones in the hall.

When the use of speech re-inforcement cannot be avoided (e.g., the majority of participants listening to conference proceedings in the original language), public address systems should be operated at their lowest level and every endeavour should be made to eliminate loudspeaker feedback into microphones placed in the hall.

In order to provide for effective control in such situations, simultaneous (multi-channel) systems and public address (single channel) systems should:

- be fed from a single microphone system,
- have separate volume controls allowing individual level adjustment for each system, independently, so that lowering the public address level does not reduce the signal strength available to interpreters.

Level controls of the two systems should be located close to each other to enable both levels to be monitored in the same room, preferably by the same operator.


© Association internationale des interprètes de conférence, Région Canada | © International Association of Conference Interpreters, Canada Region

AIIC Canada Association internationale des interprètes de conférence | International Association of Conference Interpreters | Association canadienne des interprètes de conférence (ACIC) | Canadian Association of Conference Interpreters (CACI)

English
Trouver des interprètes
AIIC et AIIC Région Canada
Organisation
Normes
L'Interprétation et les conférences
Informations utiles et raccourcis
Annonces et avis
Actualités et récompenses
Contacts
AIIC.net  [lien externe]
Membres de l'AIIC au Canada :
Connectez-vous au site
réservé aux membres
Code de déontologie de l'AIIC
Normes professionnelles de l'AIIC   [lien externe]
Normes professionnelles au Canada
Conditions de travail au Canada
Normes techniques
    Cabines fixes d'interprétation simultanée - ISO 2603
    Cabines d'interprétation simultanée transportables - ISO 4043
    Le texte des normes canadiennes pour les cabines permanentes, les cabines transportables
    et les équipements électroacoustiques peuvent être obtenus en ligne pour un prix modique
    sur le site de l'Office des normes générales du Canada  [lien externe]
ISO 4043 - Cabines d'interprétation simultanée transportables

Caractéristiques générales et équipement

Introduction

La présente Norme internationale, élaborée à la demande de l'Association internationale des Interprètes de Conférence (AIIC) et du Service commun Interprétation-Conférence (SCIC) de la Commission européenne (UE), a pour objet d'assurer des conditions optimales pour l'interprétation simultanée en cabines transportables.

La conception des cabines transportables doit répondre à quatre impératifs :

a) isoler, sur le plan acoustique, différentes langues parlées simultanément;
b) assurer une bonne communication visuelle et auditive réciproques entre les interprètes et les participants à la conférence;
c) assurer aux interprètes, pour lesquels ces cabines sont le lieu de travail, des conditions de confort qui leur permettent de soutenir l'intense effort de concentration qu'ils ont à fournir la durée de leur travail quotidien;
d) faciliter, par une construction légère mais robuste, la manipulation et le montage.

1. Domaine d'application

Les exigences de base pour les cabines d'interprétation simultanée sont fixées dans l'ISO 2603, dont la présente Norme internationale s'inspire pour tenir compte des exigences de transportabilité et de manutention des cabines transportables utilisées dans les salles qui ne sont pas dotées d'installations fixes.

Les caractéristiques principales qui distinguent les cabines transportables des installations fixes sont qu'elles peuvent être démontées, transportées et montées dans la salle de conférence même.

Les cabines qui peuvent être déplacées, mais qui sont utilisées sur les lieux mêmes et rangées à proximité des salles de conférence, ne sont pas traitées par la présente Norme internationale. Leur conception doit être aussi proche que possible de celle des cabines fixes spécifiées dans l'ISO 2603.

NOTE L'article 12 donne des indications concernant l'utilisation conjointe d'installations de sonorisation et d'interprétation simultanée.

2. Références normatives

Les normes suivantes contiennent des dispositions qui par suite de la référence qui en est faite, constituent des dispositions valables pour la présente Norme internationale. Au moment de la publication, les éditions indiquées étaient en vigueur. Toute norme est sujette à révision et les parties prenantes des accords fondés sur la présente Norme internationale sont invitées à rechercher la possibilité d'appliquer les éditions les plus récentes des normes indiquées ci-après. Les membres de la CEI et de l'ISO possèdent le registre des Normes internationales en vigueur à un moment donné.

ISO 140-4 :1998, Acoustique - Mesurage de l'isolation acoustique des immeubles et des éléments de construction - Partie 4 : Mesurage sur place d'isolation aux bruits aériens entre les pièces.
ISO 2603 : 1998, Cabines d'interprétation simultanée - Caractéristiques générales et équipement.
ISO 3382 :1997, Acoustique - Mesurage de la durée de réverbération des salles en référence à d'autres paramètres acoustiques.
CEI 60914 : 1998, Installations de conférence - Exigences électroacoustiques.

3. Définition

Pour les besoins de la présente Norme internationale, la définition suivante s'applique.

3.1 Cabine transportable pour interprétation simultanée 

Unité autonome qui englobe l'espace de travail des interprètes à l'intérieur d'une salle de conférence, de manière à procurer une isolation acoustique, tant entre les débats qui se déroulent dans la salle et les cabines qu'entre deux ou plusieurs langues en cours d'interprétation simultanée.

NOTE Elle est indépendante et montée à partir de composants modulaires.

4. Prescriptions générales

4.1 Généralités

Conçues pour un service provisoire dans des lieux très divers, les cabines transportables doivent assurer une isolation et une absorption acoustiques optimales. Elles doivent être constituées de matériaux d'entretien facile, sans odeur, antistatiques, retardateurs d'incendie ou non inflammables et ne causent pas d'irritation des yeux, de l'épiderme ou des voies respiratoires. Elles ne doivent pas non plus attirer ou retenir la poussière (il convient de proscrire les moquettes épaisses). Les couleurs doivent convenir à un lieu de travail de dimensions restreintes. Il convient de donner un fini mat à toutes les surfaces et l'équipement de la cabine.

Les hottes montées sur table sont à proscrire.

En choisissant une salle pour y installer des cabines et un équipement transportables, il est indispensable de s'assurer qu'il y a suffisamment de place pour les disposer convenablement. Il convient que l'utilisateur consulte un interprète-conseil et les fournisseurs de telles installations ou un technicien de conférence.

4.2 Confort des salles de conférence

Les salles doivent avoir des dimensions suffisantes pour accueillir les participants, les cabines et l'équipement et être situées à l'écart de toute source de bruit (par exemple circulation extérieure, passages bruyants au sein du bâtiment, ascenseurs et cuisines).

Il convient de s'assurer que l'acoustique de la salle est satisfaisante, qu'elle permet une bonne intelligibilité de la parole et que la durée de réverbération est courte.

Les salles doivent être convenablement chauffées et aérées (climatisées) et le niveau de dioxyde de carbone ne doit pas dépasser 0,1 %.

4.3 Emplacement des cabines dans la salle de conférence

Un espace suffisant doit être prévu pour grouper les cabines de sorte que les interprètes voient parfaitement la tribune, les participants, le tableau et l'écran de projection (voir ISO  2603). Pour assurer une bonne visibilité dans les salles de conférence dont le sol n'est pas incliné, les cabines doivent être surélevées de 0,30 m minimum. Une estrade doit être utilisée si nécessaire, étant entendu que celle ci sera stable et accessible en toute sécurité. Elle sera revêtue d'une moquette, ou présenter une bonne absorption acoustique et ne grincera pas.

Tous les obstacles susceptibles de gêner la vue, tels que piliers, poutres, etc., doivent être évités.

Un espace (2 m minimum) doit être prévu entre la table de conférence, les sièges des délégués et les cabines, pour éviter que les participants ne soient dérangés par le bruit des voix provenant des cabines.

Un dégagement d'au moins 1,50 m de largeur doit être prévu derrière les cabines (pour des raisons de sécurité et en cas d'incendie).

Il faut éviter que l'accès à la salle soit situé derrière les cabines. Une voie d'accès séparée aux cabines doit être prévue dans la mesure du possible.

4.4 Dimensions des cabines (voir figures 1 et 2)

Chaque cabine doit pouvoir loger le nombre spécifié d'interprètes, confortablement assis côte à côte, tout en permettant aux occupants de se déplacer sans se déranger mutuellement, et suffisamment spacieuse pour assurer une ventilation et température adéquates.

Les dimensions des cabines ont été revues et adaptées à la lumière des conditions existantes compte tenu des impératifs de santé et des besoins professionnels des interprètes.

Les dimensions intérieures minimales d'une cabine transportable normalisée ne doivent pas être inférieures à :

a) largeur :

- pour deux interprètes au maximum 1,60 m
- pour deux ou trois interprètes 2,40 m
- pour trois ou quatre interprètes 3,20 m

b) profondeur : 1,60 m

c) hauteur : 2,00 m

NOTE Dans certains cas très exceptionnels où les limitations d'espace et les problèmes de transport interne sont tels que les dimensions normalisées ne peuvent être utilisées, les dimensions de 1,50 m x 1,50 m x 1,90 m pour un maximum de deux interprètes sont tolérées.

4.5 Portes

Les portes sont indispensables pour assurer une isolation acoustique satisfaisante. Les cabines doivent être équipées d'une porte à charnières qui s'ouvre vers l'extérieur, permettant un accès direct depuis la salle ou l'estrade. La porte doit être silencieuse et non verrouillable.

Les portes coulissantes et les rideaux ne sont pas admis.

4.6 Passages de câbles

Si des passages de câbles sont nécessaires sur les panneaux latéraux ou frontaux des cabines, leurs dimensions doivent être aussi réduites que possible et compatibles avec l'équipement utilisé. L'accès aux passages doit être aisé (voir article 4.3).

5. Vitrages

5.1 Généralités

Voir figures 1 et 2.

Chaque cabine doit être équipée de vitrages frontaux et latéraux.

Pour une visibilité maximale, les vitrages frontaux doivent occuper toute la largeur de la cabine. Les montants verticaux doivent être aussi étroits que possible et ne pas être situés dans le champ de vision central d'un poste de travail.

Les vitres doivent être non teintées, propres et ne porter aucune rayure qui puissent gêner la visibilité.

5.2. Dimensions

Les vitrages frontaux et latéraux doivent se prolonger en hauteur sur une distance de 0,80 m minimum à partir de la surface de la table ou à 0,10 m maximum de cette surface. Les vitrages latéraux doivent se prolonger le long de la paroi latérale sur une distance d'au moins 0,60 m à partir du vitrage frontal, dont au moins 0,10 m au-delà du bord de la surface de travail.

6. Acoustique

6.1 Isolation acoustique

Les cabines transportables doivent être conçues de façon à assurer une isolation acoustique satisfaisante de toute source de bruit extérieure à la cabine, par exemple les sons provenant des cabines voisines ou de la salle (et inversement), le bruit de fond, etc. Si des parois sont communes à plusieurs cabines, les valeurs d'isolation acoustique doivent être rigoureusement respectées.

L'isolation acoustique doit être vérifiée d'après l'ISO 140-4 pour mesurer la différence entre les niveaux de pression acoustique, D. L'une des cabines doit être utilisée comme chambre réceptrice, tandis que la source acoustique, alimentée en bruit blanc ou rose, excite la chambre émettrice, qui peut être soit la salle, soit la cabine la plus proche.

Les niveaux de pression acoustique doivent être mesurés en bandes d'octave dans les chambres émettrices et réceptrices, et la différence entre les deux groupes de pression acoustique doit être au moins égale aux valeurs données au tableau 1 pour le bruit transmis de la salle vers la cabine et inversement.

Tableau 1 - Différences entre les niveaux de pression acoustique (D) de la cabine vers la salle

Fréquence, Hz 250 500 1000 2000 4000
D, dB 12 15 18 20 20

Quant au bruit circulant d'une cabine à l'autre, les différences entre les deux groupes de niveau de pression acoustique doivent être au moins égales égale à :

Tableau 2 - Différences entre les niveaux de pression acoustique (D) d'une cabine à l'autre

Fréquence, Hz 250 500 1000 2000 4000
D, dB 18 21 24 26 26

Le mesurage de D entre les cabines et de l'extérieur vers une cabine doit être exécuté à l'aide de cabines installées dans une salle dont les caractéristiques permettent de reconstituer les conditions réelles.

6.2 Absorption sonore

La réverbération et la réflexion acoustiques doivent être atténuées par l'emploi de matériaux absorbants antistatiques appropriés sur les surfaces intérieures. La durée de réverbération (voir ISO 3382) doit être comprise entre 0,3 s et 0,5 s, dans les bandes d'octave de 125 Hz à 4000 Hz (cabine inoccupée).

Un écran de matériau absorbant derrière les cabines peut être utilisé afin d'atténuer la réflexion acoustique du mur situé derrière celles-ci.

Dans les salles sans moquette, il faudra en mettre une sous les cabines.

7. Ventilation

Voir figures 1 et 2.

Les cabines doivent être équipées d'un système de ventilation efficace, permettant de renouveler l'air complètement, au moins sept fois l'heure, sans que les occupants en position assise soient exposés aux courants d'air gênants. S'il est possible d'obtenir des taux supérieurs de renouvellement d'air, ceux-ci doivent être réglables de l'intérieur de la cabine.

Les ventilateurs extracteurs du plafond doivent être suffisamment puissants pour répondre aux exigences susmentionnées, en étant aussi silencieux que possible.

Lorsque l'air provient directement de la salle de réunion, il convient de placer les bouches d'aération dans la partie inférieure des parois (afin de tirer parti de l'air plus frais et d'assurer une bonne circulation) à l'arrière de la cabine pour éviter les courants d'air sur les jambes des interprètes.

Le niveau de pression acoustique pondéré A engendré par le système de ventilation dans la cabine ne doit pas dépasser 40 dB. Le système de ventilation doit permettre de réduire au maximum les vibrations mécaniques.

8. Surface de travail

Voir figures 1 et 2.

La surface de travail doit occuper toute la largeur de la cabine ; elle doit être horizontale et revêtue d'un matériau anti-choc afin d'amortir les bruits qui sinon seraient captés par les microphones. Elle doit être assez solide pour supporter le poids des pupitres de commande, des documents et des interprètes qui s'y appuient. Le dessous de la surface doit être lisse. La surface de travail doit avoir les dimensions suivantes :

- hauteur : 0,73 m +/- 0,01 m à partir du sol;
- profondeur totale : 0,50 m maximum ;
- espace pour les jambes : profondeur minimale 0,45 m; les supports de la surface de travail ne doivent pas entraver l'espace pour les jambes ni gêner les mouvements.

Les armatures et l'équipement, tel que l'éclairage, doivent être montés de manière à dégager au maximum la surface de travail.

9. Eclairage

Chaque cabine doit être équipée de deux sources de lumière au moins, compactes, à faible dégagement de chaleur, orientables, montées sur des armatures réglables et de manière à ne pas encombrer la surface de travail. La lumière ainsi fournie doit éclairer toute la surface de travail et être réglable soit à deux niveaux : le premier situé entre 100 lx et 200 lx, le second supérieur à 300 lx, soit en continu, de 100 lx à plus de 300 lx; mesurée au niveau de la surface de travail.

10. Sièges

Pour chaque interprète et chaque technicien, il doit être prévu un fauteuil confortable ayant les caractéristiques suivantes :

- cinq pieds;
- hauteur réglable;
- dossier réglable;
- accoudoirs;
- roulettes silencieuses;
- capitonnage en matériaux dissipant la chaleur.

Des repose-pieds indépendants, amovibles doivent être prévus.

NOTE Les sièges sont habituellement fournis par la direction de la salle.

11. Equipement électroacoustique des cabines

11.1 Généralités

Le matériel d'interprétation simultanée est spécifié dans la CEI 60914.

11.2 Commandes et écouteurs

Un pupitre de commande et le casque, tels que définis dans l'ISO 2603 :1998, articles 8 à 10, doivent être prévus pour chaque interprète. Si la cabine n'est occupée que par deux interprètes, un pupitre de commande à deux postes est autorisé, mais il est recommandé de prévoir un pupitre par interprète.

Pour tenir compte des préférences individuelles des interprètes, il est souhaitable que le pupitre de commande permette le branchement au choix d'un microphone sur socle ou d'un combiné casque-microphone.

11.3 Microphones

Les microphones d'interprète peuvent être montés sur socle mobile ou être combinés avec les écouteurs (casques combinés); cependant, les casques combinés ne conviennent pas à tous les interprètes. Chaque interprète doit disposer d'un microphone.

12. Utilisation conjointe d'installations de sonorisation et d'interprétation simultanée

L'effet microphonique et la réverbération de la salle peuvent paralyser l'interprétation simultanée et, dans des cas extrêmes, bloquer les procédés mnémoniques de l'interprète ou provoquer des dommages du système auditif.

En outre, certains participants écoutant l'interprétation peuvent être gênés par les haut-parleurs fonctionnant à leur niveau normal; certaines installations de sonorisation, non compatibles, provoquent des interférences. Tout doit être fait aussi bien lors de la conception que sur le plan du réglage de volume du système de sonorisation afin d'éliminer la réverbération et l'effet microphonique des haut-parleurs dans la salle.

Lorsqu'il n'est pas possible de s'en passer (par exemple dans le cas où la majorité des participants suit une conférence dans la langue de l'orateur), il convient que les installations de sonorisation doivent fonctionner à leur niveau le plus bas, en prenant soin d'éliminer l'effet microphonique des haut-parleurs dans la salle.

Tout doit être mis en oeuvre pour empêcher l'effet microphonique.

Pour permettre de contrôler efficacement les situations de ce genre, les installations d'interprétation simultanée (multiplex) et les installations de sonorisation (à voie unique) doivent :

- être alimentées à partir d'une installation microphonique unique;
- comporter des commandes séparées pour le réglage du volume, permettant d'ajuster individuellement et indépendamment le niveau de chaque installation et, par conséquent, d'éviter qu'en diminuant le volume de la sonorisation, on affaiblisse aussi le signal fourni aux interprètes.

Les commandes de niveau de chacune des deux installations doivent être placées à proximité les unes des autres, afin que le réglage puisse être effectué dans la même pièce, de préférence par le même technicien.


© Association internationale des interprètes de conférence, Région Canada | © International Association of Conference Interpreters, Canada Region